Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Aug. 13, 2004 - 12:30 p.m.

OK, so, Friday the 13th. The day the infamous HMS Friday sailed into the ocean and was never heard from again. The day a lot of Templars died in a random Crusade battle. The day my overnighted deliver-by-10.30am check got rerouted due to "natural disaster." And the day I celebrated my birthday in 1976, 1982, 1993, 1999, and now 2004. I am 28. And it is going to rain.

Another sucky thing that happened today is that Julia Child passed away. She was such an inspirational woman. She majored in history, aspired to be a writer for the New Yorker, ended up working at a rug store in the city, joined the CIA during WWII, got transferred to Paris and took a cooking class on a whim. She first appeared on television at 51. Countless appearances and 7 books later, she is an American icon, and was spoken of very highly among her peers as being a kind, jolly, and optimistic friend. Wow.

In completely unrelated news, I got a Rubick's cube printed with an NYC subway map. It will be thrown out the window shortly. Not only do all the little squares have to be on the correct side of the cube, they also have to be facing the correct direction. I'm thinking of placing a curse on E. Rubik, although I think he might be dead. Oh well, a pox on his house then.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com