Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Nov. 21, 2004 - 10:12 p.m.

Hello, gang- sorry it's been so long since I've updated. I've been on several trips since the last Top 5 List (San Francisco, Santa Monica, Columbus, and Washington, DC) but all remained without Top 5 Lists (sorry, Ry). However, my recent sojourn to Savannah, Georgia- a state that makes Texas look like a booming metropolis, was worthy of several giggles. In fact, the highlight of the trip happened my last day, after I had written the list, when 3 junior high girls attacked a 4th in the "Teacher's Day" physics fair science exhibit, prompting a visit to first aid for a bleeding ear, a runaway rebel student, 6 cop cars, a helicopter, and channel 11 news. Apparently it was a slow day for news in the low country. I actually pulled a convention center couch up to the glass railing, turned my radio on channel 5 (where the teachers were) and ate peanuts while watching with glee.

So, without further ado:

#1) There is no such thing as metrosexual in Georgia. I saw a redneck cowboy complete with mullet, boots, and wranglers answer a cell phone that had a Will & Grace theme polyphonic ringtone.

#2) A tokamak is the shape of a doughnut. I don't know what a tokamak is, except that it has to do with plasma, which is the fourth state of matter, after solid, liquid, and gas, and makes up 99% of our visable universe, and it's shaped like a doughnut, which I learned while clipping one from a coffee break full of physicists.

#3) Physicists actually do have a sense of humor, as per the following conversation:
Jamie: There you go, easy as pie!
Scientist-Dude (with ponytail): is that "easy as p-i-e" or "easy as p-i"?? *snort*
Jamie: **blank stare**
Scientist-Dude: I crack myself up.

#4) In Savannah, it is apparently appropriate to wear any of the following outfits to a chi-chi club which features live music and $8 martinis on Friday night:
A) jeans, tennis shoes, an Ohio State sweatshirt, and a beaded necklace strung with actual buckeyes
B) full black-tie cocktail dress including dangly diamond earrings, stocking, and high heels
C) shorts and sandals (in November)
D) your American Physical Society name badge, or
E) full Confererate uniform.
It is not mandantory, however, to wear a bra.

And #5) Don't drink and derive.

edited to add: I forgot to put in that I was actually given directions by a person who used both "thisaway" and "thataway" as legitamate terms.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com