Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Mar. 30, 2005 - 9:04 a.m.

Yesterday, March 29, 2005, I, by the power vested in me by the state of New Jersey (which yeh, is none), thereby decreed that it was the first day that felt like spring.

I ran into Evan's room, shouting about sunshine. We freaked out and immediately proceeded to climb up the 3 VERY steep flights of fire escape and then a ladder to get to the roof, where we froze our arses off but enjoyed a few unmitigated moments of springtime sunshine. And said hey to the Chrysler Building, which you can see from up there. Oh yeah, and got roof tar on my shirt.

I watched "Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events" on the airplane the other day. I had already seen it in the theater, and I think it's fantastic, for those skeptics out there. Jim Carrey and Meryl Streep are amazing, per usual, and the art design and cinematography are stellar. But my favorite line, at the end, possibly sums up my lifelong love affair with children's literature:

"At times the world may seem like a sinister and scary place, but believe us when we tell you that there is much more good in it than bad. You just have to look hard enough. And what started out as a series of unfortunate events, may, in fact, be the first steps of a great journey."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com