Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-09 - 2:04 p.m.

Fellow Texans, join with me in welcoming the addition of a Freebird's World Burritos to Dallas. I had my first Freebird's experience today, with friends Amy and Scott. It was a very good burrito, although I'm not sure what makes it "worldly."

Tomorrow I have to go to an afternoon birthday party and an evening graduation party. I, of course, have gifts for neither and outfits for both.

Today's blog entry is dedicated to my mother, who raised me - and partly as a single mother on a teacher's salary. Now that I am out in the real world, I have absolutely no idea how she made that happen, so I applaud her. I believe that I turned out OK, and I'm quite certain that the lessons I learned from her have something to do with it.

For example, she taught me my love of books, which started at a very young age:

She taught me to always send hand-written thank-you notes, and to always send them promptly. This has turned out to be invaluable advice; I have come to believe that the entire world would run more smoothly if everyone sent thank-you notes.

She taught me that it's OK to say no when you get too busy.

She taught me that everyone should volunteer for something.

She taught me to give money to my church.

She taught me to say "please" and "thank you."

She taught me that I don't need a man to get through life; that I can get married, or not get married, as long as I am happy.

She taught me to not expect life to be handed to me on a silver platter, or a Tupperware platter, or any other kind of platter. If I want something, I have to work and make my own money.

She taught me to never wear white below the waist before Easter or after Labor Day.

She taught me how to get candle wax out of the carpet.

She taught me that my happiness lies in my own hands, and that I will always be about as happy as I make my mind up to be.

So, thanks, Mom, and to all the mothers before you. A day a year is not enough to repay you for a thankless job.

I love you, Jamie

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com