Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Aug. 02, 2004 - 6:43 p.m.

So, I broke my emergency $50 today. Granted, it used to be an emergency hundred, but then there was that one time when the watch battery guy wouldn't take my check card, and it was the weekend and I wanted my watch and didn't have any cash and then, well, you get the idea.

My gym membership fee that usually comes out of my checking account on the 17th decided to come out on the 1st this month. It also decided to be $8 more than usual. Strange things are underfoot. I think it's the gods of unemployment. They've been throwing lightning bolts at me at every turn and so far I've been dodging them like a pro. But, as in Tetris, they're now coming faster and thicker and I can't seem to get out of the way.

Days unemployed: 62.

Resumes sent out: 56.

Interviews attended: 0.

So, Saturday night in the Grove St. PATH station, Evan and I are waiting for the train, and this gentleman in his 40s or so says "Excuse me, but do you know which track the Newark train is on?" We answer politely that he's standing on the right platform, and without missing a beat, he says "You're so fine I'd drink your bathwater." It takes me a full 5 seconds to register what the hell he just said, and then as my jaw hits the floor, he goes on about how he's been happily married for 24 years, and his wife would slap him if she heard him say things like that, and how Evan is probably mad, too, to which Evan replies, "yeah. I'm her brother." and grabs my elbow to firmly pull me away from said crazy man and behind a pole. Where do these people come from?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com