Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jul. 31, 2004 - 4:40 p.m.

Am back in the big JC after 8 days in Los Angeles. Due to the loss of Photoshop (simultaneous with the loss of my job and my laptop) I can't post any of my pictures here- they're way too big. It was a faily easy gig, we had a good time, and I made a couple of new friends which is unusual for the work and quite a good deal!

The 6-hour flight was made infintely more fun by the 4-year old who kicked my seat all the way home, despite my asking her nanny to ask her to stop at least once an hour the entire trip. I was on the verge of going up to first class to get her mother but didn't really think it would do any good. I blame it on her being forced to sit through "Jersey Girl" with Ben Affleck. In COACH. I mean, the humanity!

So, without much further ado, the Top 5 Things I Learned in Los Angeles:

* They actually make good Mexican food in a state other than Texas.

* Downtown LA is full of hotels and office buildings, but no restaurants, unless you count the burrito counter in the carwash on Figueroa Blvd. Which I do.

* Never go to California without a jacket. Even if the dead of summer the temperature drops 20 degrees at sundown, forcing you to borrow a hoodie that's about 6 sizes too big, and hangs down past your skirt, which makes you look like a very strange hooker.

* Nothing clears out a bar like a lingering expellation of gas from a random-passerby. Unless it's vomit.

* It takes at least 30 minutes and $40 to get anywhere in LA, which forces me to watch "24" with the assumption that the entire season takes place within a 3-block radius.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com