Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jul. 01, 2004 - 11:35 a.m.

OK, so, last night Evan and I went to Hoboken for the Movie Under the Stars (Waiting for Guffman, y'all!). We went out for a drink after. We left at 12.30 to make the 10 min. train ride back to Jersey City. We talked about getting a cab but decided against it.

For those of you unfamiliar with NY-NJ public transport, let me give you some background on the good ole PATH (Port Authority Trans-Hudson). From the the 33rd street station in NYC, there are two trains to New Jersey. One ends in Journal Square (my stop is on this line) and one ends in Hoboken. Except, after 11.30pm, there is only one train, which goes directly to Hoboken from the city, and hits the Journal Square stops on the way back. Thus, if I'm ever in the city past 11.30pm, I go home VIA Hoboken, which is not exactly on the way.

So, in Hoboken last night, the first train that comes is a 33rd street train, which we get on, because it came straight from the city, and will hit our stop on its way back in.

Au contraire. It goes straight back to the city. WHA? THE HELL? It's 1.30am by this time and not only did the train not do what it was supposed to do, we got off the train at Christopher Street (first stop in NYC) and it was going uptown on the downtown track! Meaning, we had to wait for it to go to the 5 stops it has in Manhattan, then, if it did what it was supposed to do, it would have gone straight back to Hoboken!

Aaaaaaargh. We end up taking a $40 cab ride back to JC and getting home at 2am. Poor Evan had to be up at 6.30 and I felt soooo bad for him.

Sorry if this story was cumbersome and I hope it made sense. Bottom line- take a cab. :rolleyes

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com