Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Mar. 10, 2005 - 1:23 p.m.

Nearing the end of my unemployment funds (4 weeks and counting) has kept me indoors an inordinate amount of time lately. I simply can't afford to do anything except cook here and watch the cable for which we pay a good amount. I have felt more spinsterish than ever in the past few weeks- I've also been sick, so mainly I've been lying around, watching TV.

I started wondering about the word "spinster." If a "prankster" is "one who pranks" and a "jokester" is "one who jokes," then why should a "spinster" be "a woman who remains single past the common age of marrying, or, a woman who is unlikely to marry"? I say a spinster should be "one who spins," dammit! That being decided, I threw on some music and shook my groove thang around the apartment for a bit. Bite me, Merriam-Webster.

Seriously, I am sooooo over winter. I'm going to California in a week and I. Cannot. WAIT. Just think! Temperatures above the 30s! Sunshine! Sandals! Leaving your jacket inside!

Yesterday I was jacked up on daytime cold meds (I had an interview for which I was staggeringly overqualified, but at this point I'm getting desperate) so I used the speed-induced energy to clean my apartment. Amazing the dust a 150-year old building accumulates. Today is the first day in a week that I'm medicine-free and I'm going to try and get some creative projects done. I just painted a picture (!) and I'm going to work on a couple of articles that I'm planning on sending out as pitches for freelance writing.

Hope everyone is well. I haven't done a very good job of keeping up with everyone lately- spinsterhood is consuming work, y'know.

I was admonished yesterday for not posting lately, so here you go. A mediocre entry about nothing at all. Feel free to send me feedback, complaints, ideas on which you'd like me to expound my wisdom. :-)

Love, Jamie

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com