Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-17 - 1:52 p.m.

You know what my favorite thing about Christmas really is? The fact that everyone is willing to go the extra mile.

My "gang" and I had dinner/DVD/secret santa on Monday. We all do something similar about once a week (minus the presents) but someone is always missing due to work, or a date, or a meeting, or a "thing" they have to do. I can't remember the last time we were all 6 together. But since it's Christmas, everyone made the effort to switch up their schedule to fit with everyone else's, so we could all be together for an evening, which they probably wouldn't have done on a random September Tuesday. It was such a nice time!! (You guys, we forgot to take a picture!! I'm so bummed!)

Every dinner, every cocktail, every party, every get together in December is a stretch. Work is crazy because it's the end of the year, everyone has shopping to do, family to pick up from the airport, cookies to bake, cards to address, ad infinitum. But we all make time for the thing that is most important during the holidays: namely, time with each other. It's precious, and we should probably try harder all year long, but then December wouldn't be as special, would it?

I'm continually full from the plethora of Christmas get-togethers in my schedule. After today's lunch, I honestly feel right now like I could never eat again, but I know I have reservations with my girlfriends in 5 hours, and I know I'll end up ordering "something special" because it's Christmas.

Having everyone together and happy to be together makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. I hope to keep that feeling, and share it with my friends.

Listening to "Auld Lang Syne" as performed by Bobby Darin.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com