Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-28 - 10:50 a.m.

The Great Debate over Same Sex Marriages

Now, most of you know that I'm not really all that fussed about politics, but I would definitely call myself a Conservative. I'm southern, I'm Christian, I voted for George Bush (not necessarily because I think he's the greatest but because I didn't think we had a better option at the time, but that's another discussion).

That being said, even as a conservative, WHO THE H*** CARES? I fail to see how same-sex marriages affect our nation in any way. Meryl Streep said it perfectly at the Golden Globes when she said "I don't think that the biggest problem our nation is facing right now is two people wanting to pledge love to one another until death do us part." (Although, I'm against actors using that platform to make their personal political views known, but again, that's another discussion.)

Anyway, I believe in the Constitution. I believe in the freedom to pray in school or wear a headpiece if that's what ones religion observes. I believe in the right to bear arms. I believe in the freedom of speech, including flaming liberal Bill Mahr and staunch catholic Mel Gibson (if you don't like it, don't watch it! Again, another discussion). This is what AMERICA is built on.

I believe in the separation of church and state. Same sex marriages? Eh. I don't believe in them for religious reasons, but I couldn't care less for political reasons. It doesn't have anything to do with the daily issues of our country.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com