Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sept. 03, 2004 - 10:19 p.m.

New York is the birthplace of Labor Day and the first Labor Day Picnic, held at Bryant Park on September 5, 1882.

Although usually Labor Day for this Texan means observing the inside of my eyelids, and possibly a pool party, this year I'm a bonafide New Yorker who has just spent a stressful RNC week in the city doing everything possible to avoid any train going to or from Madison Square Garden, Republican tourists who say things like "do y'all know where Ground Zero is at?", and protest groups wielding signs and flyers that are anti-everthing from the GOP to labor rates and the persecution of some Chinese practice called Falun Gong. I'm friggin' exhausted.

My dear friend Ryan is coming to New York tomorrow- his first trip to the big Apple, and I have tons of things planned like Coney Island, a Yankees game (complete with Ryan's birthday on the center field score board during 6th inning), the Brooklyn Tabernacle, Central Park, falafel, and finding a bar that will be airing the PPV Nebraska game tomorrow. Unfortunately the Cobbler will be in San Antonio with Angel and Amy but Scarface and Ree-an will be in effect. Stay tuned for a joint-effort Top 5 Things I Learned as witnessed by Ryan and me. Perhaps we'll even have enough fodder for a top 10.

I played a rousing game of Trivial Pursuit on Sunday, so I thought I'd dispense some actual knowledge in the form of a Top 5 List (Sandy, remember our Top 10 Things You Hear? hahahahahaha!)

* The mercury thermometer was invented by Dr. Farenheit.

* The Persian Gulf is the name of the body of water that borders Iraq to the east, not merely the name of a war fought there, as aforethought by my endearing roommate.

* The average American receive 268 pieces of junk mail a year.

* People who live in New Orleans consume 2.4 times the mayonnaise as the rest of the country. This statistic makes me want to vomit. What is it with mayonnaise and faux-Frenchies? (see Top 5 Things I Learned in Montreal)

* All questions involving Watergate should be answered with "G. Gordon Liddy."

More next week. Happy Labor Day, unless you live in Canada, then Happy Labour Day. XOXOX ~J.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com