Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Feb. 10, 2005 - 12:14 a.m.

Things invented in the past few years that have revolutionized my life: all-day lipstick. The iPod. And wi-fi, as I am currently writing this entry from the comfort of my BED. Oh yes. That's right. I'm lovin' life.

I've decided the other side of the bed gives me weird dreams. You know how down comforters get all smushed? Like, if I sleep on the same side of the bed for too long, all the feathers migrate to the other side. And even if you rotate the comforter, you're still only hitting 2 corners. I don't really have a "side of the bed." It depends on how the room is laid out. But since I've lived in New York, I always sleep on the right side (the right side if I'm in it; the left side if I'm looking at it). So anyway, I decided to start sleeping on the left side to coax the feathers back to fill the comforter in their correct and intended manner, and I gotta say- I've been having some very strange dreams over here. Which is doubly strange as I have a VERY small bed. I mean, it's not like I'm sleeping in Brazil.

Tomorrow is my tax day from hell. I'm going to get up and go to the gym and try to mentally prepare for the task ahead of me. As most of you know, 2004, career-wise, was kind of a kick in the ass for me. I have 4 W-2s, 3 1099-MISCs, and a 1099-G, plus mutual fund, 403(b), school loans, charity donations, and a brand new thing called state income taxes. I have roughly $20,000 that I didn't pay taxes on as it was contract work, but hidden in those paychecks is perdiem, expense reimbursements, and airfare. So I'm spending tomorrow going through a YEAR of cab fares, dinner receipts, and plane tickets, trying to prove to the IRS exactly how much of that I owe taxes on. What a nightmare. I have a feeling at this time tomorrow I will not be in my bed, but on the kitchen floor with this laptop, about 15 stacks of papers and receipts, a cocktail, and a scowl on my face.

I just finished a book called "French Women Don't Get Fat" and I'm listening to The Blue Vipers of Brooklyn.

Happy Ash Wednesday! I heard an EXCELLENT message at Marble Collegiate Church tonight; I'm hoping the spirit of sacrifice stays strong with me for the next 40 days.

XOXOX

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com