Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May. 23, 2005 - 8:36 a.m.

What a week, already, and it's Monday morning. After a 52-hour work week in Chicago last week, I got up at 4.30a on Saturday to fly home and cook for our 2nd Annual Texiesta, which had been on the books far longer than the Chicago trip or the move. I made chili and guacamole, and we had frito pie and watermelon. It was a lot of fun, and there's at least 3 liters of tequila left over. :) Thank God; I'm going to need it this week.

So after being up almost 24 hours, I got in my own bed for the first time in 18 days, and was loving life for about 8 hours. I planned on sleeping in, but I woke up around 8.30 and started stressing out, so I had to get up and start working. I packed all day yesterday, dragged boxes up from the basement, stole all my neighbors' Jersey City Journals, and bit off all my nails.

As I wrapped up my belongings, not knowing when I might see them again, I was overcome with an overwhelming sense of sadness for making a decision to leave so quickly the home I've made here, and actually DOING it so quickly. I guess it's better this way.

I had to go through my clothes and actually decide what I could live without for the next 6 months- what a chore! I mean, I can go to the storage unit and switch stuff out if I need to, but I doubt that's going to happen very often, or at least until it's time to get out winter clothes.

I have no idea how long this chapter of my life will last; I'm turning the page blindly.

Wish me luck,
Jamie

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com