Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jun. 04, 2005 - 10:11 p.m.

Today is Michelle Phillips' birthday. Happy Birthday to 1/4 of the Mamas & the Papas!

Seriously, I promise to post pictures of this strange land soon. Today, after driving 40 minutes and back, just to get my hair done, I burned some branches, drove a John Deere Gator "down to the crick" (and in 4" wedge sandals, natch), went swimming with my darling niece, picked some fresh spices out of the garden, and hung my laundry on a clothes line that was strung between two trees rather than two buildings. All this and my mom still grumbled when I wanted to make a pie crust instead of using a frozen one. Ha!

I'm definitely always going to be a city girl, but I must admit that I enjoyed my day. I enjoy already being known by name at places I've been to twice, I enjoy driving through the woods with the dogs running next to me, and I enjoy sitting on the porch reading with no city noise. None of this is going to make my time here any shorter, but it does make it more bearable.

I'm leaving for Florida tomorrow. A week in Orlando, 2 short days in Baton Rouge, and a week in Ft. Lauderdale. Unfortunately I have to pack tonight, as part of my housing agreement here is that I attend my mother's lame, dogmatic, close-minded church so all her friends can ooh and ahh over me. *rolleyes* I'm not sure if I can express how much I'd rather sleep in tomorrow before my flight, which by the way is Chautauqua Airlines (operated via Delta) and it has 18 rows. I'm on the 18th row. Grrrr. Stupid Delta. Stupid middle America, non-airline-hub city.

I'm going to go check on my pie; it smells heavenly. I think it's almost done and my parents have already retired to their bedroom. :) I'm going to go look at STARS. You can see them from here.

Love, J.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com